Book cover of The Sassoons: The Great Global Merchants and the Making of an Empire by Joseph Sassoon
Biography & Autobiography

The Sassoons: The Great Global Merchants and the Making of an Empire

A spectacular generational saga of the making (and undoing) of a family dynasty: the riveting untold story of the gilded Jewish Bagdadi Sassoons, who built a vast empire through global finance and trade—cotton, opium, shipping, banking—that reached across three continents and ultimately changed the destinies of nations. With full access to rare family photographs and archives. […Learn More]

Book cover of Citizen Coke: The Making of Coca-Cola Capitalism by Bartow Elmore
Biography & History

Citizen Coke: The Making of Coca-Cola Capitalism 

An absorbing history of how Coke’s insatiable thirst for natural resources shaped the company and reshaped the globe.

How did Coca-Cola build a global empire by selling a low-price concoction of mostly sugar, water, and caffeine? The easy answer is advertising, but the real formula to Coke’s success was its strategy, from the start, to offload costs and risks onto suppliers, franchisees, and the government. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Day Wall Street Exploded: A Story of America in Its First Age of Terro by Beverly Gage
Biography & History

The Day Wall Street Exploded: A Story of America in Its First Age of Terro

In The Day Wall Street Exploded, Beverly Gage tells the story of a once infamous but now largely forgotten terrorist attack. Based on thousands of pages of Bureau of Investigation reports, this historical detective saga traces the four-year hunt for the perpetrators, a worldwide effort that spread as far as Italy and the new Soviet nation. It also takes readers back into the decades-long but little-known history of homegrown terrorism that shaped American society a century ago. […Learn More]

Book cover of A Nation of Deadbeats: An Uncommon History of America's Financial Disasters by Scott Reynolds Nelson
Biography & History

A Nation of Deadbeats: An Uncommon History of America’s Financial Disasters

The story of America is a story of dreamers and defaulters.  It is also a story of dramatic financial panics that defined the nation, created its political parties, and forced tens of thousands to escape their creditors to new towns in Texas, Florida, and California.  As far back as 1792, these panics boiled down to one simple question: Would Americans pay their debts—or were we just a nation of deadbeats? […Learn More]

Book cover of Collapse: The Fall of the Soviet Union by V. M. Zubok
Biography & History

Collapse: The Fall of the Soviet Union 

A major study of the collapse of the Soviet Union—showing how Gorbachev’s misguided reforms led to its demise

In 1945 the Soviet Union controlled half of Europe and was a founding member of the United Nations. By 1991, it had an army four-million strong, five-thousand nuclear-tipped missiles, and was the second biggest producer of oil in the world. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Bond King: How One Man Made a Market, Built an Empire, and Lost It All by Mary Childs
Biography & History

The Bond King: How One Man Made a Market, Built an Empire, and Lost It All

From the host of NPR’s Planet Money, the deeply-investigated story of how one visionary, dogged investor changed American finance forever.

Before Bill Gross was known among investors as the Bond King, he was a gambler. In 1966, a fresh college grad, he went to Vegas armed with his net worth ($200) and a knack for counting cards. $10,000 and countless casino bans later, he was hooked: so he enrolled in business school. […Learn More]

Book cover of Pandemic, Inc.: Chasing the Capitalists and Thieves Who Got Rich While We Got Sick by J. David McSwane
Biography & History

Pandemic, Inc.: Chasing the Capitalists and Thieves Who Got Rich While We Got Sick

For readers of War Dogs and Bad Blood, an explosive look inside the rush to profit from the COVID-19 pandemic, from the award-winning ProPublica reporter who saw it firsthand.

The United States federal government has spent over $10 billion on medical protective wear and emergency supplies, yet as COVID-19 swept the nation, life-saving equipment such as masks, gloves, and ventilators was nearly impossible to find. […Learn More]