Book cover of Atlas of AI: Power, Politics, and the Planetary Costs of Artificial Intelligence by Kate Crawford
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

Atlas of AI: Power, Politics, and the Planetary Costs of Artificial Intelligence

What happens when artificial intelligence saturates political life and depletes the planet? How is AI shaping our understanding of ourselves and our societies? In this book Kate Crawford reveals how this planetary network is fueling a shift toward undemocratic governance and increased racial, gender, and economic inequality. Drawing on more than a decade of research, award-winning science, and technology, Crawford reveals how AI is a technology of extraction: from the energy and minerals needed to build and sustain its infrastructure, to the exploited workers behind “automated” services, to the data AI collects from us. […Learn More]

Book cover of The New Breed: What Our History with Animals Reveals about Our Future with Robots by Kate Darling
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

The New Breed: What Our History with Animals Reveals about Our Future with Robots

For readers of The Second Machine Age or The Soul of an Octopus, a bold, exciting exploration of how building diverse kinds of relationships with robots―inspired by how we interact with animals―could be the key to making our future with robot technology work

There has been a lot of ink devoted to discussions of how robots will replace us and take our jobs. But MIT Media Lab researcher and technology policy expert Kate Darling argues just the opposite, suggesting that treating robots with a bit of humanity, more like the way we treat animals, will actually serve us better. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Future of Humanity: Terraforming Mars, Interstellar Travel, Immortality, and Our Destiny Beyond Earth by Michio Kaku
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

The Future of Humanity: Terraforming Mars, Interstellar Travel, Immortality, and Our Destiny Beyond Earth

The #1 bestselling author of The Future of the Mind traverses the frontiers of astrophysics, artificial intelligence, and technology to offer a stunning vision of man’s future in space, from settling Mars to traveling to distant galaxies.

We are entering a new Golden Age of space exploration. With irrepressible enthusiasm and a deep understanding of the cutting-edge research in space travel, World-renowned physicist and futurist Dr. Michio Kaku presents a compelling vision of how humanity may develop a sustainable civilization in outer space. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Exponential Age: How Accelerating Technology is Transforming Business, Politics and Society by Azeem Azhar
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

The Exponential Age: How Accelerating Technology is Transforming Business, Politics and Society

A bold exploration and call-to-arms over the widening gap between AI, automation, and big data―and our ability to deal with its effects

We are living in the first exponential age.

High-tech innovations are created at dazzling speeds; technological forces we barely understand remake our homes and workplaces; centuries-old tenets of politics and economics are upturned by new technologies. […Learn More]

Book cover of AI 2041: Ten Visions for Our Future by Kai-Fu Lee
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

AI 2041: Ten Visions for Our Future

AI will be the defining development of the twenty-first century. Within two decades, aspects of daily human life will be unrecognizable. AI will generate unprecedented wealth, revolutionize medicine and education through human-machine symbiosis, and create brand-new forms of communication and entertainment. In liberating us from routine work, however, AI will also challenge the organizing principles of our economic and social order. Meanwhile, AI will bring new risks in the form of autonomous weapons and smart technology that inherits human bias. AI is at a tipping point, and people need to wake up—both to AI’s radiant pathways and its existential perils for life as we know it. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Brain Electric: The Dramatic High-Tech Race to Merge Minds and Machines by Malcolm Gay
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

The Brain Electric: The Dramatic High-Tech Race to Merge Minds and Machines

The gripping and revelatory story of the dramatic race to merge the human brain with machines

Leading neuroscience researchers are racing to unlock the secrets of the mind. On the cusp of decoding brain signals that govern motor skills, they are developing miraculous technologies that will enable paraplegics and wounded soldiers to move prosthetic limbs and will give all of us the power to manipulate computers and other objects through thought alone. These fiercely competitive scientists are vying for government and venture capital funding, prestige, and wealth. […Learn More]

Book cover of Hello World: Being Human in the Age of Algorithms by Hannah Fry
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

Hello World: Being Human in the Age of Algorithms

A look inside the algorithms that are shaping our lives and the dilemmas they bring with them.

If you were accused of a crime, who would you rather decide your sentence―a mathematically consistent algorithm incapable of empathy or a compassionate human judge prone to bias and error? What if you want to buy a driverless car and must choose between one programmed to save as many lives as possible and another that prioritizes the lives of its own passengers? And would you agree to share your family’s full medical history if you were told that it would help researchers find a cure for cancer? […Learn More]

Book cover of A World Without Work: Technology, Automation, and How We Should Respond by Daniel Susskind
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

A World Without Work: Technology, Automation, and How We Should Respond

From an Oxford economist, a visionary account of how technology will transform the world of work, and what we should do about it

From mechanical looms to the combustion engine to the first computers, new technologies have always provoked panic about workers being replaced by machines. For centuries, such fears have been misplaced, and many economists maintain that they remain so today. But as Daniel Susskind demonstrates, this time really is different. Breakthroughs in artificial intelligence mean that all kinds of jobs are increasingly at risk. […Learn More]