Book cover of Atlas of AI: Power, Politics, and the Planetary Costs of Artificial Intelligence by Kate Crawford
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

Atlas of AI: Power, Politics, and the Planetary Costs of Artificial Intelligence

What happens when artificial intelligence saturates political life and depletes the planet? How is AI shaping our understanding of ourselves and our societies? In this book Kate Crawford reveals how this planetary network is fueling a shift toward undemocratic governance and increased racial, gender, and economic inequality. Drawing on more than a decade of research, award-winning science, and technology, Crawford reveals how AI is a technology of extraction: from the energy and minerals needed to build and sustain its infrastructure, to the exploited workers behind “automated” services, to the data AI collects from us. […Learn More]

Book cover of The New Breed: What Our History with Animals Reveals about Our Future with Robots by Kate Darling
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

The New Breed: What Our History with Animals Reveals about Our Future with Robots

For readers of The Second Machine Age or The Soul of an Octopus, a bold, exciting exploration of how building diverse kinds of relationships with robots―inspired by how we interact with animals―could be the key to making our future with robot technology work

There has been a lot of ink devoted to discussions of how robots will replace us and take our jobs. But MIT Media Lab researcher and technology policy expert Kate Darling argues just the opposite, suggesting that treating robots with a bit of humanity, more like the way we treat animals, will actually serve us better. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Exponential Age: How Accelerating Technology is Transforming Business, Politics and Society by Azeem Azhar
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

The Exponential Age: How Accelerating Technology is Transforming Business, Politics and Society

A bold exploration and call-to-arms over the widening gap between AI, automation, and big data―and our ability to deal with its effects

We are living in the first exponential age.

High-tech innovations are created at dazzling speeds; technological forces we barely understand remake our homes and workplaces; centuries-old tenets of politics and economics are upturned by new technologies. […Learn More]

Book cover of AI 2041: Ten Visions for Our Future by Kai-Fu Lee
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

AI 2041: Ten Visions for Our Future

AI will be the defining development of the twenty-first century. Within two decades, aspects of daily human life will be unrecognizable. AI will generate unprecedented wealth, revolutionize medicine and education through human-machine symbiosis, and create brand-new forms of communication and entertainment. In liberating us from routine work, however, AI will also challenge the organizing principles of our economic and social order. Meanwhile, AI will bring new risks in the form of autonomous weapons and smart technology that inherits human bias. AI is at a tipping point, and people need to wake up—both to AI’s radiant pathways and its existential perils for life as we know it. […Learn More]

Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

AI Superpowers: China, Silicon Valley, And The New World Order

Dr. Kai-Fu Lee—one of the world’s most respected experts on AI and China—reveals that China has suddenly caught up to the US at an astonishingly rapid and unexpected pace.  

In AI Superpowers, Kai-fu Lee argues powerfully that because of these unprecedented developments in AI, dramatic changes will be happening much sooner than many of us expected. Indeed, as the US-Sino AI competition begins to heat up, Lee urges the US and China to both accept and to embrace the great responsibilities that come with significant technological power. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Big Nine: How Tech Titans and Their Thinking Machines Could Warp Humanity by Amy Webb
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

The Big Nine: How the Tech Titans and Their Thinking Machines Could Warp Humanity

A call-to-arms about the broken nature of artificial intelligence, and the powerful corporations that are turning the human-machine relationship on its head.

We like to think that we are in control of the future of “artificial” intelligence. The reality, though, is that we — the everyday people whose data powers AI — aren’t actually in control of anything. When, for example, we speak with Alexa, we contribute that data to a system we can’t see and have no input into — one largely free from regulation or oversight. […Learn More]

Business & Money

Genius Makers: The Mavericks Who Brought AI to Google, Facebook, and the World

What does it mean to be smart? To be human? What do we really want from life and the intelligence we have, or might create? 
 
With deep and exclusive reporting, across hundreds of interviews, New York Times Silicon Valley journalist Cade Metz brings you into the rooms where these questions are being answered. Where an extraordinarily powerful new artificial intelligence has been built into our biggest companies, our social discourse, and our daily lives, with few of us even noticing.  […Learn More]

Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

A Thousand Brains: A New Theory of Intelligence

A bestselling author, neuroscientist, and computer engineer unveils a theory of intelligence that will revolutionize our understanding of the brain and the future of AI.

For all of neuroscience’s advances, we’ve made little progress on its biggest question: How do simple cells in the brain create intelligence? […Learn More]