Book cover of Pandemic, Inc.: Chasing the Capitalists and Thieves Who Got Rich While We Got Sick by J. David McSwane
Biography & History

Pandemic, Inc.: Chasing the Capitalists and Thieves Who Got Rich While We Got Sick

For readers of War Dogs and Bad Blood, an explosive look inside the rush to profit from the COVID-19 pandemic, from the award-winning ProPublica reporter who saw it firsthand.

The United States federal government has spent over $10 billion on medical protective wear and emergency supplies, yet as COVID-19 swept the nation, life-saving equipment such as masks, gloves, and ventilators was nearly impossible to find. […Learn More]

Book cover of Ten Caesars: Roman Emperors from Augustus to Constantine by Barry Strauss
Biography & Autobiography

Ten Caesars: Roman Emperors from Augustus to Constantine

In this essential and “enlightening” (The New York Times Book Review) work, Barry Strauss tells the story of the Roman Empire from rise to reinvention, from Augustus, who founded the empire, to Constantine, who made it Christian and moved the capital east to Constantinople.

During these centuries Rome gained in splendor and territory, then lost both. By the fourth century, the time of Constantine, the Roman Empire had changed so dramatically in geography, ethnicity, religion, and culture that it would have been virtually unrecognizable to Augustus. […Learn More]

Book cover of American Prison: A Reporter's Undercover Journey into the Business of Punishment by Shane Bauer
Politics & Government

American Prison: A Reporter’s Undercover Journey into the Business of Punishment

A ground-breaking and brave inside reckoning with the nexus of prison and profit in America: in one Louisiana prison and over the course of our country’s history.

In 2014, Shane Bauer was hired for $9 an hour to work as an entry-level prison guard at a private prison in Winnfield, Louisiana. An award-winning investigative journalist, he used his real name; there was no meaningful background check. Four months later, his employment came to an abrupt end. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Chancellor: The Remarkable Odyssey of Angela Merkel by Kati Marton
Biography & Autobiography

The Chancellor: The Remarkable Odyssey of Angela Merkel

The definitive biography of German Chancellor Angela Merkel, detailing the remarkable rise and political brilliance of the most powerful—and elusive—woman in the world.

The Chancellor is at once a riveting political biography and an intimate human story of a complete outsider—a research chemist and pastor’s daughter raised in Soviet-controlled East Germany—who rose to become the unofficial leader of the West. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Knowledge: How to Rebuild Civilization in the Aftermath of a Cataclysm by Lewis Dartnell
Computers & Technology

The Knowledge: How to Rebuild Civilization in the Aftermath of a Cataclysm

How would you go about rebuilding a technological society from scratch?

If our technological society collapsed tomorrow what would be the one book you would want to press into the hands of the postapocalyptic survivors? What crucial knowledge would they need to survive in the immediate aftermath and to rebuild civilization as quickly as possible? […Learn More]

Book cover of Operation Paperclip: The Secret Intelligence Program that Brought Nazi Scientists to America by Annie Jacobsen
Astronomy & Space Science

Operation Paperclip: The Secret Intelligence Program that Brought Nazi Scientists to America

The “remarkable” story of America’s secret post-WWII science programs (The Boston Globe), from the New York Times bestselling author of Area 51. 

In the chaos following World War II, the U.S. government faced many difficult decisions, including what to do with the Third Reich’s scientific minds. These were the brains behind the Nazis’ once-indomitable war machine. So began Operation Paperclip, a decades-long, covert project to bring Hitler’s scientists and their families to the United States. […Learn More]

Book cover of Bad News: How Woke Media Is Undermining Democracy by Batya Ungar Sargon
Business & Money

Bad News: How Woke Media Is Undermining Democracy

Something is wrong with American journalism. Long before “fake news” became the calling card of the Right, Americans had lost faith in their news media. But lately, the feeling that something is off has become impossible to ignore. That’s because the majority of our mainstream news is no longer just liberal; it’s woke. Today’s newsrooms are propagating radical ideas that were fringe as recently as a decade ago, including “antiracism,” intersectionality, open borders, and critical race theory. How did this come to be? […Learn More]

Book cover of Vision or Mirage: Saudi Arabia at the Crossroads by David Rundell
History

Vision or Mirage: Saudi Arabia at the Crossroads

Something extraordinary is happening in Saudi Arabia. A traditional, tribal society once known for its lack of tolerance is rapidly implementing significant economic and social reforms. An army of foreign consultants is rewriting the social contract, King Salman has cracked down hard on corruption, and his dynamic though inexperienced son, the Crown Prince Mohammad bin Salman, is promoting a more tolerant Islam. But is all this a new vision for Saudi Arabia or merely a mirage likely to dissolve into Iranian-style revolution? […Learn More]

Book cover of The Strategy of Denial: American Defense in an Age of Great Power Conflict by Elbridge A. Colby
International & World Politics

The Strategy of Denial: American Defense in an Age of Great Power Conflict

Elbridge A. Colby was the lead architect of the 2018 National Defense Strategy, the most significant revision of U.S. defense strategy in a generation. Here he lays out how America’s defense must change to address China’s growing power and ambition. Based firmly in the realist tradition but deeply engaged in current policy, this book offers a clear framework for what America’s goals in confronting China must be, how its military strategy must change, and how it must prioritize these goals over its lesser interests. […Learn More]

Book cover of Us vs. Them: The Failure of Globalism by Ian Bremmer
International & World Politics

Us vs. Them: The Failure of Globalism

Those who championed globalization once promised a world of winners, one in which free trade would lift all the world’s boats, and extremes of left and right would give way to universally embraced liberal values. The past few years have shattered this fantasy, as those who’ve paid the price for globalism’s gains have turned to populist and nationalist politicians to express fury at the political, media, and corporate elites they blame for their losses. […Learn More]