Book cover of Decoding Greatness: How the Best in the World Reverse Engineer Success by Ron Friedman
Business & Money

Decoding Greatness: How the Best in the World Reverse Engineer Success

For readers of Atomic Habits, Deep Work, and Peak comes a game-changing approach to mastering new skills and succeeding faster.

For generations, we’ve been taught there are two ways to succeed—either from talent or practice. In Decoding Greatness, award-winning social psychologist Ron Friedman illuminates a powerful third path—one that has quietly launched icons in a wide range of fields, from artists, writers, and chefs, to athletes, inventors, and entrepreneurs: reverse engineering. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Genetic Lottery: Why DNA Matters for Social Equality by Kathryn Paige Harden
Biological Sciences

The Genetic Lottery: Why DNA Matters for Social Equality

A provocative and timely case for how the science of genetics can help create a more just and equal society

In recent years, scientists like Kathryn Paige Harden have shown that DNA makes us different, in our personalities and in our health―and in ways that matter for educational and economic success in our current society. […Learn More]

Book cover of Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking by Susan Cain
Health and Psychology

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over working in teams. It is to introverts—Rosa Parks, Chopin, Dr. Seuss, Steve Wozniak—that we owe many of the great contributions to society. […Learn More]

Book cover of Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance by Angela Duckworth
Health and Psychology

Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

In this instant New York Times bestseller, Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent, but a special blend of passion and persistence she calls “grit.” “Inspiration for non-geniuses everywhere” (People). […Learn More]

Book cover of Rationality: What It Is, Why It Seems Scarce, Why It Matters by Steven Pinker
Health and Psychology

Rationality: What It Is, Why It Seems Scarce, Why It Matters

Can reading a book make you more rational? Can it help us understand why there is so much irrationality in the world? Steven Pinker, author of Enlightenment Now (Bill Gates’s “new favorite book of all time”) answers all the questions here

Today humanity is reaching new heights of scientific understanding–and also appears to be losing its mind. How can a species that developed vaccines for Covid-19 in less than a year produce so much fake news, medical quackery, and conspiracy theorizing? […Learn More]

Book cover of The Pattern Seekers: How Autism Drives Human Invention by Simon Baron-Cohen
Biological Sciences

The Pattern Seekers: How Autism Drives Human Invention

A groundbreaking argument about the link between autism and ingenuity.

Why can humans alone invent? In The Pattern Seekers, Cambridge University psychologist Simon Baron-Cohen makes a case that autism is as crucial to our creative and cultural history as the mastery of fire. Indeed, Baron-Cohen argues that autistic people have played a key role in human progress for seventy thousand years, from the first tools to the digital revolution. […Learn More]

Book cover of She Has Her Mother's Laugh: The Powers, Perversions, and Potential of Heredity by Carl Zimmer
Biological Sciences

She Has Her Mother’s Laugh: The Powers, Perversions, and Potential of Heredity

Celebrated New York Times columnist and science writer Carl Zimmer presents a profoundly original perspective on what we pass along from generation to generation. Charles Darwin played a crucial part in turning heredity into a scientific question, and yet he failed spectacularly to answer it. The birth of genetics in the early 1900s seemed to do precisely that. Gradually, people translated their old notions about heredity into a language of genes. As the technology for studying genes became cheaper, millions of people ordered genetic tests to link themselves to missing parents, to distant ancestors, to ethnic identities… […Learn More]

Business & Money

Think Again: The Power of Knowing What You Don’t Know

The bestselling author of Give and Take and Originals examines the critical art of rethinking: learning to question your opinions and open other people’s minds, which can position you for excellence at work and wisdom in life.

Intelligence is usually seen as the ability to think and learn, but in a rapidly changing world, there’s another set of cognitive skills that might matter more: the ability to rethink and unlearn. In our daily lives, too many of us favor the comfort of conviction over the discomfort of doubt. […Learn More]