Book cover of Breaking the Social Media Prism: How to Make Our Platforms Less Polarizing by Christopher Bail
Computers & Technology

Breaking the Social Media Prism: How to Make Our Platforms Less Polarizing 

A revealing look at how user behavior is powering deep social divisions online—and how we might yet defeat political tribalism on social media

In an era of increasing social isolation, platforms like Facebook and Twitter are among the most important tools we have to understand each other. We use social media as a mirror to decipher our place in society but, as Chris Bail explains, it functions more like a prism that distorts our identities, empowers status-seeking extremists, and renders moderates all but invisible […Learn More]

Book cover of Losing Our Minds: The Challenge of Defining Mental Illness by Dr. Lucy Foulkes
Health and Psychology

Losing Our Minds: The Challenge of Defining Mental Illness

A compelling and incisive book that questions the overuse of mental health terms to describe universal human emotions

Public awareness of mental illness has been transformed in recent years, but our understanding of how to define it has yet to catch up. Too often, psychiatric disorders are confused with the inherent stresses and challenges of human experience […Learn More]

Book cover of Cultish: The Language of Fanaticism by Amanda Montell
Health and Psychology

Cultish: The Language of Fanaticism

The author of the widely praised Wordslut analyzes the social science of cult influence: how cultish groups from Jonestown and Scientology to SoulCycle and social media gurus use language as the ultimate form of power. […Learn More]

Book cover of Woke Racism: How a New Religion Has Betrayed Black America by John McWhorter
Politics & Government

Woke Racism: How a New Religion Has Betrayed Black America

New York Times bestselling author and acclaimed linguist John McWhorter argues that an illiberal neoracism, disguised as antiracism, is hurting Black communities and weakening the American social fabric.

Americans of good will on both the left and the right are secretly asking themselves the same question: how has the conversation on race in America gone so crazy? […Learn More]

Book cover of The New Breed: What Our History with Animals Reveals about Our Future with Robots by Kate Darling
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

The New Breed: What Our History with Animals Reveals about Our Future with Robots

For readers of The Second Machine Age or The Soul of an Octopus, a bold, exciting exploration of how building diverse kinds of relationships with robots―inspired by how we interact with animals―could be the key to making our future with robot technology work

There has been a lot of ink devoted to discussions of how robots will replace us and take our jobs. But MIT Media Lab researcher and technology policy expert Kate Darling argues just the opposite, suggesting that treating robots with a bit of humanity, more like the way we treat animals, will actually serve us better. […Learn More]

Book cover of An Ugly Truth: Inside Facebook's Battle for Domination by Sheera Frenkel
Biography & History

An Ugly Truth: Inside Facebook’s Battle for Domination

Award-winning New York Times reporters Sheera Frenkel and Cecilia Kang unveil the tech story of our times in a riveting, behind-the-scenes exposé that offers the definitive account of Facebook’s fall from grace. 

Once one of Silicon Valley’s greatest success stories, Facebook has been under constant fire for the past five years, roiled by controversies and crises. It turns out that while the tech giant was connecting the world, they were also mishandling users’ data, spreading fake news, and amplifying dangerous, polarizing hate speech. […Learn More]

Book cover of Bad News: How Woke Media Is Undermining Democracy by Batya Ungar Sargon
Business & Money

Bad News: How Woke Media Is Undermining Democracy

Something is wrong with American journalism. Long before “fake news” became the calling card of the Right, Americans had lost faith in their news media. But lately, the feeling that something is off has become impossible to ignore. That’s because the majority of our mainstream news is no longer just liberal; it’s woke. Today’s newsrooms are propagating radical ideas that were fringe as recently as a decade ago, including “antiracism,” intersectionality, open borders, and critical race theory. How did this come to be? […Learn More]

Book cover of Arriving Today: From Factory to Front Door -- Why Everything Has Changed About How and What We Buy by Christopher Mims
Biography & History

Arriving Today: From Factory to Front Door — Why Everything Has Changed About How and What We Buy

The Wall Street Journal technology columnist reveals the fascinating story behind the misleadingly simple phrase shoppers take for granted—“Arriving Today”—in this eye-opening investigation into the new rules of online commerce, transportation, and supply chain management.

We are at a tipping point in retail history. While consumers are profiting from the convenience of instant gratification, rapidly advancing technologies are transforming the way goods are transported and displacing workers in ways never before seen. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Exponential Age: How Accelerating Technology is Transforming Business, Politics and Society by Azeem Azhar
Artificial Intelligence & Robotics

The Exponential Age: How Accelerating Technology is Transforming Business, Politics and Society

A bold exploration and call-to-arms over the widening gap between AI, automation, and big data―and our ability to deal with its effects

We are living in the first exponential age.

High-tech innovations are created at dazzling speeds; technological forces we barely understand remake our homes and workplaces; centuries-old tenets of politics and economics are upturned by new technologies. […Learn More]

Book cover of Four Thousand Weeks: Time Management for Mortals by Oliver Burkeman
Business & Money

Four Thousand Weeks: Time Management for Mortals

The average human lifespan is absurdly, insultingly brief. Assuming you live to be eighty, you have just over four thousand weeks.

Nobody needs telling there isn’t enough time. We’re obsessed with our lengthening to-do lists, our overfilled inboxes, work-life balance, and the ceaseless battle against distraction; and we’re deluged with advice on becoming more productive and efficient, and “life hacks” to optimize our days. But such techniques often end up making things worse. […Learn More]