Book cover of The Sisterhood: The Secret History of Women at the CIA by Liza Mundy
History

The Sisterhood: The Secret History of Women at the CIA

The acclaimed author of Code Girls returns with a “rip-roaring” (Steve Coll), “staggeringly well-researched” (The New York Times) history of three generations at the CIA, “electric with revelations” (Booklist) about the women who fought to become operatives, transformed spycraft, and tracked down Osama bin Laden. […Learn More]

Book cover of Valiant Women: The Extraordinary American Servicewomen Who Helped Win World War II by Lena Andrews
Biography & Autobiography

Valiant Women: The Extraordinary American Servicewomen Who Helped Win World War II 

A groundbreaking new history of the role of American servicewomen in WWII, illuminating their forgotten yet essential contributions to the Allies’ victory.

Valiant Women is the story of the 350,000 American women who served in uniform during World War II. These incredible women served in every service branch, in every combat theater, and in nearly two-thirds of the available military occupations at the time. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Confidante: The Untold Story of the Woman Who Helped Win WWII and Shape Modern America by Christopher C. Gorham
Biography & Autobiography

The Confidante: The Untold Story of the Woman Who Helped Win WWII and Shape Modern America

Perfect for readers of A Woman of No Importance, Three Ordinary Girls, and Eleanor: A Life comes the first-ever biography of Anna Marie Rosenberg, the Hungarian Jewish immigrant who became FDR’s closest advisor during World War II and, according to Life, “the most important official woman in the world”—a woman of many firsts, whose story, forgotten for too long, is extraordinary, inspiring, and uniquely American. […Learn More]

Book cover of The Burglary: The Discovery of J. Edgar Hoover's Secret FBI by Betty Medsger
Biography & Autobiography

The Burglary: The Discovery of J. Edgar Hoover’s Secret FBI

The never-before-told full story of the history-changing break-in at the FBI office in Media, Pennsylvania, by a group of unlikely activists—quiet, ordinary, hardworking Americans—that made clear the shocking truth and confirmed what some had long suspected, that J. Edgar Hoover had created and was operating, in violation of the U.S. Constitution, his own shadow Bureau of Investigation. […Learn More]