Book cover of The King of Confidence: A Tale of Utopian Dreamers, Frontier Schemers, True Believers, False Prophets, and the Murder of an American Monarch by Miles Harveyby Miles Harvey
@MIlesHa91389803

The “unputdownable” (Dave Eggers, National Book award finalist) story of the most infamous American con man you’ve never heard of: James Strang, self-proclaimed divine king of earth, heaven, and an island in Lake Michigan, “perfect for fans of The Devil in the White City” (Kirkus)

New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice
Longlisted for the 2021 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction
Finalist for the Midland Authors Annual Literary Award
A Michigan Notable Book
CrimeReads Best True Crime Book of the Year

Interview with the Author

Podcast art for Most Notorious! A True Crime History PodcastMost Notorious! A True Crime History Podcast 
177: James Jesse Strang: Con Man, Mormon Prophet and the “King of Heaven & Earth” w/ Miles Harvey
11/17/20          63 min


Podcast art for The Book Review from the New York TimesThe Book Review 
The Yearning for the Unexplained
7/24/20         52 min

Interview Starts at 22 min


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*